Rehabilitation Research & Development Service (RR&D)

Quick Links

Health Programs
  • Protect your health
  • Learn more: A-Z Health
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
 

Hybrid Title 38, Biomedical Engineer

The VA Office of Research and Development (ORD) Rehabilitation Research and Development Service (RR&D) evaluates Title 38 hybrid research Biomedical Engineer scientist positions funded by ORD/RR&D for assignment at all grade levels under authority of 38 U.S.C. 7401(3) and 7405(a)(1)(B).

The National Professional Standards Boards (NPSB) act for, are responsible to, and are agents of the Under Secretary for Health in matters concerning appointments and advancements of individuals in all Research BME hybrid occupations. Research NPSB determines eligibility and recommends the appropriate grade and step for appointments at all grade levels under authority of 38 U.S.C. 7401(3) and 7405(a) (1) (B), and recommends candidates for special advancements for achievement and promotions.

Refer to VHA Handbook 5005 Staffing https://vaww.va.gov/OHRM/Directives-Handbooks/Documents/5005.pdf, Part II, Appendix G38 Biomedical Engineer Qualification Standard, and the documents provided here for guidance regarding the submission and approval of these positions.

The Research BME NPSB is separate and distinct from the Clinical BME NPSB. The Research BME NPSB manage positions funded with the Medical and Prosthetic Research appropriation to be hired or working in “Medical Research”. The Clinical BME NPSB manage positions funded with the Medical Care Appropriation to be hired or working in “Patient Care Services.”

Contact information: National PSB (Research Positions) Board Members:

Chair: Rory Cooper, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System
Pittsburgh, PA
(412) 365-4850
Rory.Cooper@va.gov

Voting Board Members:

* Gary Beaupre, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
VA Palo Alto Health Care System
Palo Alto, CA
(650) 493-5000 Ext: 64272
Gary.Beaupre@va.gov

** Andrew Hansen, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
Minneapolis VA Health Care System
Minneapolis, MN
(612) 467-2910
Andrew.Hansen2@va.gov

** Steven Kautz, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
Charleston VA Medical Center
Charleston, SC
(843) 792-3867
Steven.Kautz@va.gov

** William Ledoux, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
VA Puget Sound Health Care System
Seattle, WA
(206) 768-5347
William.Ledoux@va.gov

* Ronald Triolo, PhD
Department of Veterans Affairs
Louis Stokes VA Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
(216) 791-3800. Ext: 820 4138
Ronald.Triolo@va.gov

Non-Voting Board Member:

Secretary: Ricardo Gonzalez
RR&D Administrative Officer
Department of Veterans Affairs
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
202-443-5761
Ricardo.Gonzalez@va.gov

* = Senior Member
** = Junior Member